Each state has different rules and regulations when it comes to the electric bicycle. To be sure you ride appropriately, you should look up your state’s ebike laws. Since Tuoteg is located here in Minnesota, we thought we would tackle Minnesota’s state ebike laws to ensure you ride safely!
Where are Electric Bikes Allowed?
The electric bicycle is allowed on state trails and wherever normal bicycles are allowed. Granted, they have to meet the following criteria:
- The electric bicycle has 2 or 3 wheels.
- It must have a saddle (seat) and pedals. You have to be able to propel yourself forward somehow. So, motorbikes do not count in this criteria since they do not have pedals.
- The electric motor has to be 1,000 watts or less – Tuoteg eBikes have a peak wattage motor of 750 watts.
- The electric bike cannot be capable of going more than 20 miles per hour – This includes having someone use the pedals. If you use the assist AND pedal, you can still not be able to go over 20 miles per hour.
To see other details, check out the Minnesota DNR.
Do You Have to Ride with a Driver’s License?
In Minnesota, it is not required to ride an electric bike with a driver’s license.
Do You Have to be a Certain Age?
Yes, in Minnesota you have to be at least 15 years old to ride the electric bicycle.
It is important to note that rules and regulations can change at any time. It is very important to keep up to date with your state’s ebiking information. For the most up-to-date laws and regulations, it is always best to check your state’s DNR website.
Since there are different types and seasons for the electric bicycle, it is also important to note that fat-tire ebikes may have different riding regulations in the wintertime.